skip to Main Content
FREE SHIPPING minimum order $49.00

 

Want to send a gift to a loved one? As a bonus, add a personalized message to your loved one and we will write a personalized card in your name!
Angkor Bullet Jewellery – logo

THE HISTORY BEHIND ANGKOR BULLET JEWELLERY

Mr. Chantha Thoeun, an artisan jeweler, founded Angkor Bullet Jewellery in 2011. He tells himself:

I was born in Pursat province, I don’t have any siblings, my mother died when I was 4 years old, and my father was killed when I was 8 years old by a notorious Khmer Rouge soldier. It was a terrible time for me. I was only a young child and did not realize my father was dead. I begged him to wake up.

Chantha then went to live with his grandparents, and he was helped and supported by the Skip Organization and this allowed him to continue his studies in Phnom Penh. He started learning jewelry making from the age of 14 years at the Skip Organization. He learned for nearly 4 years in the jewelry section.

I got married in 2009 to my wife Thearny Kol. My wife can make jewellery and sews as well eco-friendly bags. We have a daughter, her name is Rozannara Chantha. She goes to school Monday till Friday. We just had the chance to have a second child, a son, Nyrithiya Chantha (Amos).

ANGKOR BULLET JEWELLERY’S COMMITMENT

Angkor Bullet Jewellery is a group of home-based artisans who reside in a small community around 30 minutes from Phnom Penh, Cambodia.

At the centre of the group there is a special man, M. Chantha Theoun, who produces unique jewellery pieces that have been fashioned from recycled brass meltdown from empty bullet cartridges or bomb shell fragments.

This Social Enterprise is committed to the personal development of their home-based workers as individuals in an economic, social, and spiritual sense. The artisans are given employment with fair wages, a safe work environment and education for their families.

ANGKOR BULLET JEWELLERY’S UPCYCLED MATERIAL

What inspired Chantha Thoeun to use bullet cartridges brass metal and bomb shell fragments in its work?

I use bullet cartridges and bomb shells as I want to showcase the plight of Khmer people and what they have had to endure in our recent past.

Chantha believes it is a strong statement about his country and what the Khmer people can do. Turning something negative that was used to kill millions of Khmer people including his dad, into something of beauty, hope, strength, and endurance! From war to peace! Chantha also loves that he can recycled and upcycle brass metal from a bullet cartridge or a bomb shell that would otherwise not be reused and give it a new life. Furthermore, his designs are inspired by Cambodia millennium rich history and culture.

Angkor Bullet Jewellery is a member of Artisans Association of Cambodia (AAC) which is member of World Fair Trade Organization (WFTO):

DISCOVER ANGKOR BULLET JEWELLERY'S COLLECTION

Close search
Cart
Back To Top

skip to Main Content
Livraison gratuite avec achat minimum de 49,00$

 

Envie de faire parvenir un cadeau à un être cher? En prime, ajoutez un message personnalisé à l’être cher et nous écrirons une carte personnalisée en votre nom!
Angkor Bullet Jewellery – logo

L’HISTOIRE DERRIÈRE ANGKOR BULLET JEWELLERY

M. Chantha Thoeun, un artisan joaillier, a fondé Angkor Bullet Jewellery en 2011.  Il se raconte :

Je suis né dans la province de Pursat, je n’ai pas de frères et sœurs, ma mère est morte quand j’avais 4 ans, et mon père a été tué quand j’avais 8 ans par un illustre soldat khmer rouge. Ce fut un moment terrible pour moi. Je n’étais qu’un jeune enfant et ne savais pas que mon père était mort. Je le priais de se réveiller.

Chantha est ensuite allé vivre avec ses grands-parents, et il a été aidé et soutenu par une organisation nommée Skip Organization et cela lui a permis de poursuivre ses études à Phnom Penh. Il a commencé à apprendre la fabrication de bijoux à partir de l’âge de 14 ans à Skip Organization. Il a été formé pendant près de 4 ans dans la section bijoux.

Je me suis marié en 2009 à ma femme Thearny Kol. Ma femme peut faire des bijoux et coud des sacs éco-responsables aussi. Nous avons une fille, son nom est Rozannara Chantha. Elle va à l’école du lundi au vendredi. Nous avons eu la chance d’avoir un deuxième enfant, un garçon, Nyrithiya Chantha (Amos).

L’ENGAGEMENT ANGKOR BULLET JEWELLERY

Angkor Bullet Jewellery est un groupe d’artisans travaillant à domicile qui réside dans une petite communauté à environ 30 minutes de Phnom Penh, au Cambodge.

Au centre de ce réseau, un homme spécial, Chantha Thoeun qui façonne habilement les cartouches de balles et d’obus en de belles pièces de bijoux et ainsi fournir un petit revenu à sa communauté défavorisée.

Cette entreprise sociale est engagée dans le développement personnel de ces travailleurs à domicile tant dans un sens économique, social et spirituel. Les artisans ont un emploi avec un salaire équitable, un environnement de travail sûr et l’accès à l’éducation pour leurs familles.

LE MATERIAU RECYCLÉ ANGKOR BULLET JEWELLERY

Qu’est-ce qui a inspiré Chantha Thoeun à utiliser le laiton, soit le métal des cartouches de balles et des fragments de bombe dans son travail?

J’utilise le laiton des cartouches de balles et des fragments de bombe pour mettre en valeur le sort des Khmers et ce qu’ils ont dû endurer dans leur récent passé.

Chantha pense que c’est une déclaration forte sur son pays et sur ce que le peuple khmer peut faire. Transformer quelque chose de négatif qui a été utilisé pour tuer des millions de Khmers, y compris son père, en quelque chose de beauté, d’espoir, de force et d’endurance! De la guerre à la paix! Chantha aime aussi pouvoir recycler le laiton d’une cartouche de balle ou un fragment de bombe qui autrement ne serait perdu et lui donner une nouvelle vie. En outre, le design de ses créations sont inspirées de la riche histoire et de la culture millénaire du Cambodge.

Angkor Bullet Jewellery est membre de l’Artisans’ Association of Cambodia (AAC) qui, à son tour, est membre du World Fair Trade Organization (WFTO).

Artisans' Association of Cambodia (AAC) - Logo

DÉCOUVREZ LA COLLECTION DE ANGKOR BULLET JEWELLERY

Close search
Panier
Back To Top